Stop speaking publicly – NDC Council of Elders tells MPs, supporters on Minority changes

The Council of Elders of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) has urged all Members of Parliament (MPs) of the party, leadership at all levels and, indeed, all concerned members to refrain from further public pronouncement on the recent changes to the Minority leadership.

According to the Council, this is in the larger interest of the party.

“This is a time to be circumspect in order not to play into the hands of our detractors,” the Council said in a statement issued on Saturday, January 28.

Signed by Chairman Alhaji Mumuni Iddrisu, the statement disclosed that a petition has been received from some members of the Minority Caucus regarding the changes.

“The Council has initiated steps to act expeditiously on the petition and related matters,” Alhaji Iddrisu stated.

“While this process is underway, the Council urges our Honourable Members of Parliament, Party leadership at all levels and all concerned persons to refrain from further public pronouncements on the matter in the larger interest of our great NDC.”

The Council assured the rank and file of the party of an “early” and “principled” resolution of the issues for the NDC “will emerge stronger and more united”.

“We urge all members of the NDC to re-dedicate themselves to working for victory in the Presidential and Parliamentary elections in 2024, to alleviate the suffering of the Ghanaian people.”

The NDC on Tuesday, January 24 wrote to the Speaker of Parliament through its General Secretary, Fifi Fiavi Kwetey, to ring changes to the Minority leadership.

Hitherto Minority Leader Haruna Iddrisu was replaced by the Ranking Member of the Finance Committee, Dr Cassiel Ato Forson, while Deputy Minority Leader, James Klutse Avedzi, was replaced by Ranking Member on the Trade, Industry and Tourism Committee Emmanuel Armah-Kofi Buah.

Minority Chief Whip Muntaka Mubarak Mohammed was also replaced by Ranking Member on the Roads and Transport Committee Governs Kwame Agbodza.

The 1st and 2nd Deputy Minority Whips – Ahmed Ibrahim and Comfort Doyoe Cudjoe-Ghansah respectively – were, however, maintained.